Schmidsfelden is a small village near the border of Bavaria and Württemberg, consisting of the glassworks, a store house, an administrative building, a manor-house, a chapel and some workers houses. Within the store house the last carefully wrapped products which have not been sold any more, were still placed into stock some years ago. It was a broad array of different colorless and some green vessels, but with a focus on pharmaceutical bottles. The written record however shows the importance of window glass. The glass factory was established 1824/26 at the location of a mill and was named after its founder Johann Balthasar von Schmidsfeld (1777-1846)
In 1997 the Heimatpflege Leutkirch Association rebuilt the north wing of the old factory. It now contains parts of the museum collection. Fascinating artifacts and documents describe the glass history of the region. The workers lodges have also been restored and are now privately owned. In addition to the chapel the old well, dating back to 1877, is now back in its old splendor.
In 1999 the renovation of the old glass store began. Three parties, Project Schmisfelden e.V., Heimatpflege Leutkirch e.V. and Umweltkreis Leutkirch finished the project. The timber building now contains an exhibition of the Adelegg nature reserve on the first floor and a collection of the glass produced between 1825 and 1898 in Schmidsfelden on the second floor.